2016 Awards Shortlist

The shortlist for the Women of the Future Awards 2016, the movement celebrating and nurturing the pipeline of female talent in the UK, is announced.

The Women of the Future Awards, now in their 11th year and proudly supported by headline sponsor Aviva, recognise the inspirational young female stars of today and tomorrow. They are open to women aged 35 or under and celebrate talent across categories including business, culture, media, technology and more.

Please find below the candidates shortlisted across 14 categories. This year’s candidates will meet with the judges on October 14 and the winners will be announced at the Awards on November 16.

Women of the Future: Arts & Culture
Winner: Sheila Nortley, Screenwriter, Dreamscape Films

Katriona Beales, Artist
Joëlle Dinnage, Director and Co-Founder, The Global Art Agency
Dr Laura-Jane Foley, Playwright and Art Historian
Amy Martin, Creative Director, Impact Hub Birmingham

Women of the Future: Business
Winner: Alex Newbould, Head of Pricing Strategy, Asda
Highly Commended: Alexandra Pott, Chief of Staff, TalkTalk

Helen Brand, Executive Director, Head of Luxury Goods Equity Research, UBS
Hannah Brown, Head of Business Development (Sport), Sky
Corentine Polivet-Clediere, Head of Regulatory Strategy and Post Trade Policy, Europe, London Stock Exchange Group

Women of the Future: Community Spirits
Winner: Natalie Campbell, Founder, A Very Good Company
Highly Commended: Esther Marshall, Strategy Manager for Chief Sustainability Officer, Unilever

Melissa Day, Founder, Ipswich Town of Sanctuary
Olivia Edwards, Head of Fundraising, Sentebale
Yusra Hussain, Regional Executive Officer, Robogals EMEA
Jeannie Kielty, Community Relations Coordinator, The Banks Group

Women of the Future: Corporate
Winner: London Stock Exchange Group
Highly Commended: Reed Smith

Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Enterprise Rent-A-Car

Women of the Future: Entrepreneur
Winner: Brynne Herbert, CEO, MOVE Guides

Jackie Fast, Managing Director, Slingshot Sponsorship
Sophie Ibbotson, Founder and Director, Maximum Exposure
Karla Jobling, COO, BeecherMadden
Suzie Walker, Chief Firestarter and Brand Director, The Primal Pantry

Women of the Future: MBA Star
Winner: Julia Paykin, MBA Candidate, London Business School

Lauren Dickerson, Co-founder and Commercial Strategist, Lunagen
Justine Gamez, MBA Candidate, University of Oxford
Vana Koutsomitis, Co-founder and CEO, DatePlay

Women of the Future: Media
Winner: Chayya Syal, Broadcast Journalist and Blogger, BBC Asian Network and Avid Scribbler

Jane Bradley, Investigations Correspondent, BuzzFeed News
Rosie Davies, Agency Director, The London Fashion Agency
Caroline Hyde, TV Anchor and Chief European Correspondent, Bloomberg TV
Chayya Syal, Broadcast Journalist and Blogger, BBC Asian Network and Avid Scribbler
Sarah Lefkowith and Tash Rosehill, Creative Team, VCCP

Women of the Future: Mentor
Winner: Tamara Box, Managing Partner EME, Reed Smith
Highly Commended: Nadine Benjamin, Soprano and Creative Mentor, Everybody Can!

Funke Abimbola, General Counsel & Company Secretary, Roche UK
Susan Attard, Deputy Town Clerk, City of London Corporation
Gary Palmer, General Manager, Enterprise Rent-A-Car

Women of the Future: Professions
Winner: Fayola Yeboah, Head of Contracts & Legal, UK & Ireland, ManpowerGroup

Christine Davies, Exploration Geoscientist, Shell International
Tess Kelly, Head of Legal, Financial Stability and Market Infrastructure, Bank of England
Lubjana Matin, Deputy Head of English, St Martin-in-the-Fields High School for Girls
Charlotte Meyrick, Fund Manager, UK Equities, Aviva Investors

Women of the Future: Real Estate, Infrastructure and Construction
Winner: Bryony Day, Associate, Arcadis

Kelly Bream, Operations Director, Berkeley Homes, South East London
Erin McDonald, Associate Director, CBRE
Catherine Kelly, Associate Director, Turner & Townsend
Sharon Slinger, Senior Project Quantity Surveyor, Carillion plc

Women of the Future: Science
Winner: Dr Maria Bruna, Junior Research Fellow in Mathematics, St John’s College

Dr Sophie Acton, Junior Group Leader, MRC Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology
Dr Louisa Messenger, Post-Doctoral Research Fellow, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Dr Karine Salin, Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of Glasgow
Dr Anna Slater, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, University of Liverpool

Women of the Future: Sport
Winner: Danielle Brown MBE, Company Director, Danielle Brown

Sarah Barrow, Athlete, Olympic Diver, British Diving
Penny Coomes, Athlete, National Ice Skating Association of GB and NI
Emma Douglas, Para Athlete, Team GBR
Alice Mills, Professional Jockey

Women of the Future: Technology & Digital
Winner: Maxine Mackintosh, Chair, HealthTech Women

Alice Audley, Editor-in-Chief, Blogosphere Magazine
Sophie Baldry, Project Manager, Digital Inclusion, Lloyds Banking Group
Nicola Entwistle, Director, Digital Payments Market Development, Mastercard Worldwide
Kate Unsworth, CEO & Founder, Vinaya

Women of the Future: Young Star
Winner: Nusrath Hassan, Alumna, Mulberry School for Girls
Highly Commended: Risha Jindal, CEO, Digimeal

Emma Andrews, Student, Cambridge University
Om-Kalthoom Bashumailah, Student, City, University of London
Bethany Reeves, Student, Putney High School